top of page

Faith, Feminism, and Friendship: Review of "And I Darken" by Kiersten White


Listen: I don’t usually read historical fiction. I am much more of a made-up fantasy world person myself, but there was something about this book that I made me unable to stop thinking about it.

I guess it started with the cover. SO. GORGEOUS. Like W O W. Every time I saw it, I was floored. But then I would read the description, and I would think, “You know, I’m not really a fan of historical fiction.” And then I would put it aside and buy some other book. I had also heard good things about this book (it is a New York Times Bestseller) from both Twitter and Goodreads and general chatter when talking to other book nerds. So, when my library got it in with a new shipment of books, I decided to give And I Darken a go.

I regret nothing.

And I Darken was a beautifully written tale of family, faith, and friendship, with more than a dash of feminism thrown in there. It tells the story of Lada Dragwlya and her brother Radu, children of the Prince of Wallachia. Lada is wild and unpredictable, traits not acceptable for a woman in that time, while Radu is meek but cunning. As children, they are given to the Ottoman Empire by their father in exchange for the throne of Wallachia. In the capital of the empire, they live under the constant threat of execution, but manage to befriend the sultan’s son, Mehmed.

In the Ottoman Empire, Lada works to subvert society’s impressions of her as a woman by taking command of a legion of soldiers, desperate to return home, while Radu becomes close to the sultan, working to protect his friend Mehmed and his new country.

The one thing I loved most about this book was White’s depiction of the relationship between Lada, Radu, and Mehmed. Not only does she examine the bond between sibling, but also how that bond is impacted by friendship and love. I loved the dynamic between Radu and Mehmed, and how their relationship was impacted by the relationship between Lada and Mehmed.

I found it interesting that White chose to have both siblings fall for Mehmed, as it served dual purposes. Without her love for Mehmed, Lada would have been a character whose only purpose was to defy the cultural norms of the time. By loving Mehmed, it shows a human side to Lada, making her more relatable to the reader. On the other side, Radu’s love for Mehmed shows how he can break from the norm. Throughout the book, Radu is shown as a conformist, doing his best to hide behind others. When given to the Ottomans, he takes on their religion and befriends high ranking officials, all to keep himself invisible and indispensable. As being in love with a man wasn’t socially acceptable in the time the novel is set, Radu becomes a character capable of nonconformity.

White’s writing was beautiful and fluid, magical without having to resort to purple prose. It made her setting—and her characters—rich and believable. I also appreciated her choice of featuring multiple languages in the book, showing the diversity of the empire and the people within it. I found myself fully draw into this world.

was also paced well, though a little slow at times. It isn’t overdone with action or romance, but there are scenes that incorporate both. This book is subtle, not without drama, but also not overwhelmed by it. Instead of focusing on action, it focused on the relationships between characters, something I feel is not common in YA these days. This book was just what I needed.

Description from Goodreads:

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets. Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion. But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

Average Goodreads Rating: 3.93

Publication Date: June 28, 2016

Page Count: 475 Pages

bottom of page